The Student Ambassador Program was established to improve outreach to prospective students and build relationships with alumni and the WSU community. Ambassadors represent the College of Engineering and Computer Science and serve as hosts and hostesses at various events, both on and off-campus.

CECS Student Ambassadors are a select group of students who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement and exemplary student leadership. Ambassadors are dedicated to serving and representing the College of Engineering and Computer Science and Wright State University. If you have a question about what is like to be a student at WSU, feel free to email any of the CECS Student Ambassadors below. For more information on how to join the program contact Ann Wright, ann.wright@wright.edu.


Kylie Bertsch
Major: Industrial & Systems Engineering
Senior
bertsch.7@wright.edu

What do you like most about the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
"The small class sizes that I've had have created a great learning environment. The faculty and staff have all been very helpful in assisting me throughout my time here as well. I also like that CECS has a lot of clubs and activities to be involved in along with many innovative research opportunities."

 

Allison Colvin
Major: Biomedical Engineering
Sophomore
colvin.23@wright.edu

What advice do you have for freshman in the College of Engineering and Computer Science"Your life will be a lot easier if you read ahead in the material before going to class. It also helps to get familiar with people in your classes so there is a network of contacts that can assist with homework or studying for tests."

 

 

 

Kaitlyn Danner
Biomedical Engineering
danner.16@wright.edu

What advice do you have for a freshman in the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
"You determine what your college experience is like. If you want to get involved, join and organization; if you want to focus on school, make a study group; but most importantly, make friends that can show you the fun side of things and be there for you if things get tough."

 

 

Lexi Heironimus
Biomedical Engineering
heironimus.6@wright.edu

What is the most fun activity you have been involved with at Wright State University?
"Getting involved in campus activities and organizations is what makes my experience at Wright State awesome. Residential life organizations, such as community council, helped me get a job as a Resident Assistant, which I love to do every day. Phi Sigma Rho, the engineering sorority, has helped me connect with other girls in the College of Engineering and Computer Science, making studying and other activities so much more enjoyable."

 

 

Tyler Highlander
Computer Science & Computer Engineering
highlander.2@wright.edu

What do you like most about the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
"The personal relationships that can be made with professors and staff."

 

 

Emily Millar
Major: Biomedical Engineering
Sophomore
millar.4@wright.edu

What advice do you have for freshman in the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
"Don't fall behind in your work. Try your hardest with everything that you do and never give up."

 

 

Ashley Mohler
Biomedical Engineering
mohler.10@wright.edu

What advice do you have for freshman in the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
"Get involved! It’s the best way to meet people in your major and that can be a great success tool. Plus, student organizations are a great way to make friends."

 

 

Ghazi Mustafa
Mechanical Engineering
mustafa.7@wright.edu

What do you like most about the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
"There are lots of opportunities for€“ research, teaching, co-ops, internships and scholarships."

 

 

Alyssa Piasecki
Major: Biomedical Engineering
Sophomore
piasecki.3@wright.edu

What is the most fun activity you have been involved with at WSU?
"The most fun activity I have been involved with at WSU would have to be all the First Weekend activities during the beginning of my freshman year. It was very exciting to meet all the new people at WSU and see what campus was all about."

 

 

Ashley Smith
Major: Electrical Engineering
Graduate Student
smith.1169@wright.edu

Who did you co-op with? What did you find most beneficial about your co-op?
"I am in a co-op through SOCHE on the Air Force base. The thing that benefits me the most is that I am getting experience in a wide range of labs. It is allowing me to work with a large variety of people as well."

 

 

Dan Rapking
Biomedical Engineering
rapking.2@wright.edu

What advice do you have for freshman in the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
"Honestly, the best thing to do is get involved, whether it’s in class or organizations. This helps you meet new people, while building a network of teachers, peers, and other mentors that can help you down the road. This can help you with homework, finding friends to hang out with, and finding jobs that interest you!"

 

 

Renee Rigrish
Major: Industrial & Systems Engineering
Senior
rigrish.2@wright.edu

What do you like most about the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
"Free printing! The faculty and staff are also really great because they care a lot about their students. There is also a lot of ways to get involved in CECS."

 

 

Amena Shermadou
Biomedical Engineering
shermadou.4@wright.edu

What is the most fun activity you have been involved with at Wright State?
Engineering in Medicine, which is a program hosted by Biomedical Engineering Society that exposes area high school students to how cool Biomedical Engineering is.

 

 

Justin Warner
Major: Computer Science
Senior
warner.73@wright.edu

What do you like most about the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
"The best thing about CECS is being surrounded by others with the same thoughts and aims as myself."