The Student Ambassador Program was established to improve outreach to prospective students and build relationships with alumni and the WSU community. Ambassadors represent the College of Engineering and Computer Science and serve as hosts and hostesses at various events, both on and off-campus.

CECS Student Ambassadors are a select group of students who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement and exemplary student leadership. Ambassadors are dedicated to serving and representing the College of Engineering and Computer Science and Wright State University. If you have a question about what is like to be a student at WSU, feel free to email any of the CECS Student Ambassadors below. For more information on how to join the program contact Ann Wright, ann.wright@wright.edu.


Zac Audette
Computer Science
Senior
audette.2@wright.edu

What advice do you have for freshman in CECS?
Focus on the material of the course and not the grade you want to receive. Studying and learning the content will ultimiately help you get the grade you want and will be more useful in the workforce.

 

Marcus Bracey
Mechanical Engineering
Senior
bracey.6@wright.edu

What is the most fun activity you have been involved with at WSU?
Joining the dodgeball tournament with friends. We had a fun time with this recreational activity held by the Office of Student Activities.

 

Emily Burns
Mechanical Engineering
Senior
burns.130@wright.edu

What do you like most about CECS?
How easily accessible the faculty and staff are, along with students. They are here to help you succeed and tey want to help you. If you seek help, you will be able to find it.

 

Allison Colvin
Major: Biomedical Engineering
Junior
colvin.23@wright.edu

What advice do you have for freshman in the College of Engineering and Computer Science"Your life will be a lot easier if you read ahead in the material before going to class. It also helps to get familiar with people in your classes so there is a network of contacts that can assist with homework or studying for tests."

 

Kaitlyn Danner
Biomedical Engineering
Junior
danner.16@wright.edu

What advice do you have for a freshman in the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
"You determine what your college experience is like. If you want to get involved, join and organization; if you want to focus on school, make a study group; but most importantly, make friends that can show you the fun side of things and be there for you if things get tough."

 

Evan Frantz
Biomedical Engineering Pre-Med
Senior
frantz.24@wright.edu

What advice do you have for freshman in CECS?
I think one of the most important things for freshman to do is to get involved in a variety of activities on or off campus. Study abroad, join clubs or take exciting classes like scuba diving. There are many things to do at Wright State University.

 

Michael Graves
Biomedical Engineering
Senior
graves.35@wright.edu

What advice do you have for freshman in CECS?
If you don't understand what is going on, don't be afraid to ask questions.

 

Michelle Harr
Materials Science & Engineering
Senior
harr.8@wright.edu

What advice do you have for freshman in CECS?
Get involved!

 

Tyler Highlander
Computer Science & Computer Engineering
highlander.2@wright.edu

What do you like most about the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
"The personal relationships that can be made with professors and staff."

 

Katy Hitchcock
Materials Science & Engineering
Senior
hitchcock.13@wright.edu

What do you like most about CECS?
I personally enjoy the engineering events that we do, such as Women in Engineering and Computer Science Day, because I am able to apply my education in a unique way. I also enjoy my smaller class size because I am able to interact more with my professors.

 

Joe Kershner
Biomedical Engineering Pre-Med
Senior
kershner.13@wright.edu

What do you like most about CECS?
Take advantage of all the academic help the college offers through tutors, etc; you have to stay on top of your classes in order to succeed. Also, it's never too early to start networking.

 

Emily Millar
Major: Biomedical Engineering
Sophomore
millar.4@wright.edu

What advice do you have for freshman in the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
"Don't fall behind in your work. Try your hardest with everything that you do and never give up."

 

Morgan Miller
Electrical Engineering
Junior
miller.1076@wright.edu

What is the most fun activity you have been involved with at WSU?
Being a TA for the intro engineering course and helping students get a good start in their engineering courses.

 

Ashley Mohler
Biomedical Engineering
Junior
mohler.10@wright.edu

What advice do you have for freshman in the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
"Get involved! It’s the best way to meet people in your major and that can be a great success tool. Plus, student organizations are a great way to make friends."

 

Alyssa Piasecki
Major: Biomedical Engineering
Senior
piasecki.3@wright.edu

What is the most fun activity you have been involved with at WSU?
"The most fun activity I have been involved with at WSU would have to be all the First Weekend activities during the beginning of my freshman year. It was very exciting to meet all the new people at WSU and see what campus was all about."

 

Ashley Smith
Electrical Engineering
Graduate Student
smith.1169@wright.edu

Who did you co-op with? What did you find most beneficial about your co-op?
"I am in a co-op through SOCHE on the Air Force base. The thing that benefits me the most is that I am getting experience in a wide range of labs. It is allowing me to work with a large variety of people as well."

 

Dan Rapking
Biomedical Engineering
rapking.2@wright.edu

What advice do you have for freshman in the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
"Honestly, the best thing to do is get involved, whether it’s in class or organizations. This helps you meet new people, while building a network of teachers, peers, and other mentors that can help you down the road. This can help you with homework, finding friends to hang out with, and finding jobs that interest you!"

 

Renee Rigrish
Industrial & Systems Engineering
Graduate Student
rigrish.2@wright.edu

What do you like most about the College of Engineering and Computer Science?
"Free printing! The faculty and staff are also really great because they care a lot about their students. There is also a lot of ways to get involved in CECS."

 

Tori Robinson
Computer Engineering
Sophomore
robinson.384@wright.edu

What do you like most about CECS?
My favorite part about CECS is that you are involved in a huge network of people. Teachers and students a like are all working together to help each other learn and achieve their best.

 

Amena Shermadou
Biomedical Engineering
Graduate Student
shermadou.4@wright.edu

What is the most fun activity you have been involved with at Wright State?
Engineering in Medicine, which is a program hosted by Biomedical Engineering Society that exposes area high school students to how cool Biomedical Engineering is.

 

Emma Sum
Biomedical Engineering
Sophomore
sum.2@wright.edu

What advice do you have for freshman in CECS?
Don't be afraid to get out there and talk to people. Engineers, students and professors alike, are some of the coolest people you'll ever meet. And chances are, they'll have a lot of experience that they will be more than happy to share with you.